How to Roll Back WordPress Plugin and Theme Version

How to Roll Back WordPress Plugin and Theme Version

When maintaining a WordPress website, the most frequently discussed thing is “update”. You need to keep your website content fresh with the new words constantly. Also, you should make sure that the WordPress core, themes and plugins are all updated with the latest versions. This way, you can prevent the security threads effectively and keep your website running smoothly. However, the problem is that updating your WordPress themes and plugins all the times may bring you some troubles. Sometimes, you should roll back to the old versions so as to ensure the proper website running. This time, we’d like to explain why this happens and how to roll back WordPress plugin and theme version.

Why to Roll Back the Versions of Plugins and Themes

The updating of your WordPress themes and plugins is a simple task. Once there is a new release, your WordPress admin panel can showcase the notification. And what you need to do is to click the Update link. The WordPress script will handle the rest for you.

Even, you can automate the WordPress update feature using the related plugins such as Easy Updates Manager. With it, all the types of update jobs on your WordPress site can be finished automatically.

Automate WordPress Update

However, when the following situations happen, you may want to revert to the previous versions of your updated themes and plugins.

  • Sometimes, the developers may remove some old features on the themes and plugins and add the new functions that you feel intrusive. In this case, if your current website relies on the old features, you may want to reverse the update process.
  • If there is something wrong happened on your website, the first thing you need to do is to roll your updated tools back to the previous versions.
  • When updating something on your website, the compatibility issue may happen. In this case, you may find that your newly updated plugins or themes cannot work well with other installed items on your site.

In these situations, rolling back the updated items can bring the stable running of your website. However, we still need to mention that not updating your plugins or themes may lead to some security loopholes of your website. In this case, before deciding this practice, you need to think twice to ensure that this is a worthwhile practice.

Roll Back Using the Manual Method

To roll back your WordPress themes and plugins, you can rely on a manual way. Here, you firstly need to make a backup file of your WordPress site. This can prevent the data loss or some unexpected situations after the rolling back practice. If you are more careful, you can even test the roll back on the staging environment before in a live website.

Then, you should enter your WordPress dashboard to deactivate your target plugins and themes. And next, you can enter the WordPress Theme Directory or the WordPress Plugin Directory. After finding your target item, you should click the Advanced View button in the source page.

Advanced View

Then, you can find all the versions of this plugin. You can pick up your previous version and click the Download button.

Previous Versions

Now, you will receive the downloading file that is zipped. In this case, you should upload this file to your website. Here, you can use a FTP client. Or, you can make use of the uploader available from WordPress admin panel.

That’s it. You just need to activate your plugins or themes. And then, you can find that they are in the previous versions.

Roll Back Using the WP Rollback Plugin

The manual method is suitable when you only roll back one or two items. However, if you need to roll back a lot of options, the manual method is time consuming. If so, we recommend you to try the WP Rollback plugin.

After installing it, you can find that when entering the plugin listing page of your dashboard, there is a new button of Rollback available.

Plugin Rollback Button

You should click it to choose the previous version from the next screen. Once chosen, you just need to hit the Rollback button.

As for the themes, you should enter the theme details page. Here, you can also find a Rollback button. You just need to click it to pick up the old version. Lastly, you need to confirm the process by activating the theme.

Theme Rollback Button